Preview our most recent tutorials

Every two weeks there is a new tutorial for you to enjoy.

Fun, challenging and something you'll be proud to say is your painting.

Recent tutorials:

Mar 23 2020

HARE PREVIEW

How about a hare? Here's a gorgeous hare to paint with lots of wet technique. Here we are using a coin and kitchen roll to create a moonlit sky effect. This is one you'll really enjoy.

Mar 8 2020

RUSTY PREVIEW

Ellie makes a glorious topic for our next tutorial. There’s plenty of techniques to try out here, we’re even using some salt to create texture in the painting. We use lots of dynamic and creative calligraphic strokes to create skin texture and this is a painting anyone would be proud to display on the wall. Loosen up, get ready to paint, grab your brushes and enjoy!

Feb 22 2020

ELLIE PREVIEW

Ellie makes a glorious topic for our next tutorial. There’s plenty of techniques to try out here, we’re even using some salt to create texture in the painting. We use lots of dynamic and creative calligraphic strokes to create skin texture and this is a painting anyone would be proud to display on the wall. Loosen up, get ready to paint, grab your brushes and enjoy!

Feb 8 2020

MACAW PREVIEW

Learn how to tackle the challenge of painting such a bright, colour-defined bird without it looking like separate blocks of colour ‘stuck together’! Interesting brushstrokes, getting irridescence in the eye and increasing texture without painting every feather ... this tutorial has it all.

Jan 25 2020

GIRAFFE PREVIEW

This lofty chap makes for a wonderful painting! He gives us plenty of chance to experiment with dropping different types of marks in, both wet in wet and drier, bringing him to life in a believable way, without lots of fussy detail. Keep it loose, friends! I can’t wait to see your results.

Jan 11 2020

OWL PREVIEW

With a bit of know-how and some calligraphic brushstrokes, you’ll be amazed how this wonderful little owl comes to life on the paper.  You’ll have a hoot completing him! I can’t wait to see your results.

Dec 28 2019

CHRISTMAS STAG PREVIEW

A seasonal Stag for you today Magnificent antlers, painted in a way That’ll make you rush for your brushes! Quick! Which hues and pigments will you pick? To bring this lovely young stag alive While the last Xmas Sherry you might imbibe To help you paint this chap ‘expressive’ I hope you end up feeling festive!

Dec 14 2019

ROBIN PREVIEW

I know we said new tutorials every two weeks, but ... surprise! A little early pre-Christmas treat. Everybody loves robins, and with good reason! Friendly birds, they seem to take a huge interest in us humans as we move through our daily lives. I’ve selected a lively pose for this tutorial, which I think captures some of their curiosity. We’ll interpret him with loose, expressive marks rather than trying to detail every feather, bringing him to life with movement and flair! Grab your brushes and let's get painting...

Dec 6 2019

KINGFISHER PREVIEW

Learning to paint a Kingfisher is a joy. The Kingfisher is such a beautiful, elusive bird. We’re going to create the appearance of feathers without stifling our painting with detail, using darker colours to create shape from lighter areas and using breaking-up marks. Plenty of gorgeous, vibrant colour and some bravery with water is required.

Nov 25 2019

PRIDE – LION PREVIEW

King of the jungle! You’re going to love painting this alongside me, we are really letting ourselves go with this one. Paint it big if you can; be brave, move your brush from the shoulder, big expressive brushstrokes is the way to go!

Nov 22 2019

DUCKLING PREVIEW

Your chance to paint a cute fluffball! But is it? Look again ... we’re going to bring this duckling alive with just enough detail to create form. This is one that somebody is bound to want on the wall, so guard your finished painting well or it’s likely to waddle off!

Nov 20 2019

CURIOSITY PREVIEW

Cows of all shapes and sizes make beautiful, expresssive subjects for paintings. You’ll get accustomed to laying down shadow colours as a base, and making dark areas come alive with interest. Give it a try and I’m sure you’ll end up with a very moo-ving painting! Grab your brushes and let's get painting...